FCT Minister to inaugurate new Area Council Chairmen Tuesday

FCT Minister inaugurates new Area Council Chairmen Tuesday

By Anthony Ogunleye

In compliance with a Court Judgment, the FCT Minister, Mallam Muhammad Musa Bello, will inaugurate the newly elected Chairmen and Councilors of the six Area Councils of the Federal Capital Territory Tuesday.

This was contained in a Press Statement released by the FCT Administration to newsmen on Friday evening.
According to the statement, “We want to reiterate that as a law-abiding organization, the FCTA will equally obey this new Judgment just as it had complied with the earlier Judgment. The Chairmen shall accordingly be inaugurated at 10:00hrs prompt on Tuesday, June 14, 2022”.

The statement further revealed that the Federal Capital Territory Administration  at about 1400hrs of this Friday, the 10th of June, 2022 received the Certified True Copy of a new Judgment of the FCT High Court delivered by Justice Ibrahim Mohammed, setting aside the earlier Judgment extending the tenure of the Chairmen and Councilors for another year.

The Judgment effectively clears the way for the swearing in of the newly elected Chairmen.

The FCT Administration reminded the residents that the FCT is a creation of law and all its actions will be guided by the rule of law and this case will not be an exception.

Meanwhile, the Administration extends its appreciation to all stakeholders for their patience and support in this regard and enjoins all residents of the Territory to remain calm and law abiding in their daily activities, the Statement added.