….warned against violent conduct

By: Ben Ukeji

The Federal Capital Territory Security Committee has assured the residents of the Federal Capital Territory of their safety during and after the 2023 General Elections.

The Committee, therefore, urged all eligible residents to come out en-masse and exercise their civic responsibility; adding that adequate security arrangements have been made to guarantee the safety of officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) as well as the residents, who are expected to vote in the forthcoming election.

A statement from the Director, Information and Communication, FCT, Muhammad Hazat Sule, and made available to Abuja Digest Newspaper, indicated that the
Committee gave the assurance during its meeting, held Thursday 23rd February 2023, in Gwarinpa I District, Abuja, and also urged residents to conduct themselves lawfully during the exercise.

It stated that the Committee has noted all potential flashpoints that could lead to a breach of peace and have carefully mapped out appropriate strategy and deployed men for round-the-clock surveillance.

Sule said the Committee reviewed all security concerns and expressed satisfaction with the level of preparedness by the respective security formations in the Territory and concluded that the 2023 General Elections can hold in an atmosphere of peace and tranquility within the FCT.

The body noted the proactiveness of the FCT Administration in restricting commuter movements around the International Conference Centre, Abuja, being the Collation Centre for the 2023 Presidential election.

According to Sule’s statement, the Committee emphasized that the FCT is known for peace and warned that it would not tolerate any act inimical to the peace and development of the Territory.

The FCT Security Committee meeting, which was presided over by the FCT Minister of State, Dr. Ramatu Tijjani-Aliyu, was attended by the FCT Permanent Secretary, Mr. Olusade Adesola, Chief of Staff to the FCT Minister, Mallam Muhammad Bashir Mai-Borno, all Heads of Security formations in the FCT.

Others were the Chairmen of the six Area Councils of the FCT, Secretaries of FCT Mandate Secretariats, the Chairman of the FCT Council of Chiefs, as well as some Directors of the FCT Administration.