FAAC: FCT Area Councils, Stakeholders Share N2.8Bn July Allocation

By: Freda Aideyan

The Federal Capital Territory Administration has disbursed a total sum of N2,892,081,930.29 billion to the six Area Councils and other stakeholders in the Federal Capital Territory as its share of statutory allocation for the month of July, 2022.

Minister of State, FCT, Dr. Ramatu Tijjani Aliyu, who presided over the 168th Joint Account Allocation Committee (JAAC) meeting used the occasion to appeal to stakeholders to show understanding as the revenue from the Federation Account keeps nose diving.  

Aliyu, who was represented by the Acting FCTA Permanent Secretary, Mallam Mohammed Bashir, however, called on council authorities to pay cleaning company contractors in their respective councils.

The breakdown of the figures released during the JAAC meeting indicate that the sum of N611,276,341.46 million was made available for distribution to the six Area Councils, while the sum of N2,280,805,588.83 billion was made available to other stakeholders, bringing the total sum to N2,892,081,930.29 billion.  

Similarly, distributions to Area Councils show that the Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC), received N170,582,270.76 million, while Gwagwalada got N82,954,656.18 million and Kuje received N119,206,233.92 million.

Other Area Councils include, Bwari Area Council which received N87,675,782.37 million, Abaji got N77,928,662.74 million while Kwali received N72,928,735.49 million, bringing the total sum to N611,276,341.45 million disbursed to the six Area Councils.

On the other hand, distribution to other critical stakeholders include: Primary School Teachers which gulped N1,917,556,374.33billion, 15 percent Pension Funds took N226,478,989.57million, One percent Training Fund gulped N28,920,819.30million, while 10 percent Employer Pension Contribution gulped N107,849,405.63million, bringing the total sum to N2,280,805,588.83billion.  

Those present at the 168th Joint Account Allocation Committee (JAAC), meeting include the representative of FCTA Ag. Permanent Secretary, Mallan Mohammed Bashir, Mandate Secretary Area Council Services, Hon. Ibrahim Abubakar Dantsoho, Director of Administration and Finance, FCT Area Council Services Secretariat, Mrs. Omolola Olanipekun, Chairmen of the six area councils,  amongst others.