FCT Minister Condoles with Karu Chiefdom over Demise of Etsu

By: Abubakar Sani

Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Mallam Muhammad Musa Bello, has commiserated with the Karu Chiefdom over the death of the Etsu Karu (Sa’karuyi of Karu), HRH Emmanuel Kyauta Yepwi.

The Minister, while leading a delegation of senior officials of the FCT Administration on a condolence visit to the Palace of the Etsu Karu on Sunday, April 16, 2023, described the late Chief as a person of wisdom, who contributed immensely to the development of his domain.

Bello, who was represented by the FCT Permanent Secretary, Mr. Olusade Adesola, also eulogized the late Etsu of Karu as man of peace and an epitome of wisdom, who was steeped in the culture and traditions of his people; adding that his reign brought peace, stability and development to Karu Chiefdom and indeed the FCT.

While noting that the FCT will sorely miss the good guidance and wise counsel of the late Etsu, the Minister prayed that Almighty God will grant the Royal Father eternal rest and his family as well as the Karu Chiefdom, the fortitude to bear the irreparable loss.

Speaking on behalf of the Palace, the District Head of Jikwoyi, Mr. Nicodemus Machi, appreciated the FCT Administration for the condolence visit to the Karu Chiefdom and prayed that the good relationship between the Palace and the FCT Administration will continue to flourish.

Welcoming the FCT Minister to Karu, Senator representing the FCT at the National Assembly, Phillip Aduda, thanked the FCT Minister for coming to commiserate with the Karu people and for his continued support.

The Senator, however, said that, in line with the tradition of the Chiefdom, the formal declaration of the transition of the late Etsu would be made on Saturday, April 22nd, to be followed by other traditional burial rites.

Other dignitaries present during the visit include the Secretary, FCT Transportation Secretariat, Abdullahi Adamu Candido, the Chairman FCT Secondary Education Board, Yahaya Musa Arada, Members of the Traditional Council of Karu and Directors in the FCTA, among others.