Gusau Inaugurates NPFL’s IMC, Calls for Integrity in League Management

By: Gyang Dakwo

President of the Nigeria Football Federation, Ibrahim Musa Gusau says it is incumbent on the Interim Management Committee of the Nigeria Professional Football League to manage the nation’s domestic leagues with integrity and a firm hand in order to turn things around for the better.

Speaking at the inauguration of the committee at the NFF Secretariat on Friday, Gusau pinpointed the lack of television broadcasting as one of the major drawbacks of the elite League.

“There is a lot of work to be done by this committee of eminent and respectable persons in Nigeria Football, people with the pedigree and real calibre to effect change. One of the changes must be to ensure that our League is back on television and that there is a lot of integrity and credibility in the way and manner it is being administered.

“I have tremendous confidence in the chairman and members of the committee that they will justify the confidence reposed in them by the Government and people of Nigeria.”

Gusau thereafter presented to the committee chairman, Gbenga Elegbeleye, one-time Director General of the National Sports Commission, the terms of reference of the committee, which will be in place for three months.

Responding, Elegbeleye thanked the NFF President and his Board for the confidence reposed in the Interim Management committee and assured that it will do its best within the three months lifespan to put in place a foundation for the upgrade and upscale of the Nigeria Professional Football League.

“Definitely, we have a lot of problems in the League. We have problems with officiating, a lack of television, and several other hiccups. Our job will be to do a lot to redress these within the short time we have, and we also appeal to the media to ensure credibility in their reporting of the League,” Elegbeleye said.

Members of the committee are Paul Bassey, Vice-Chairman, and Davidson Owumi will serve as Head of Operations.

The other members are Kunle Sonane, Daniel Amokachi, Calvin Onwuka, Aliyu Adamu, Danladi Ibrahim, and Mohammed Sa’idu.

There is also Ponbeni Ogun, and Auwalu Jada, with Olumide Bamiduro as Secretary, while Ayo Abdulrahaman will serve as Assistant Secretary.