FCT Perm. Sec. Inaugurates Hajj Committee

By: Ben Ukeji

The Permanent Secretary, Federal Capital Territory Administration (FCTA), Olusade Adesola has constituted a 2023 Hajj Committee to ensure hitch-free operations and guarantee smooth pilgrimage for intending FCT pilgrims to the Holy Land.

The Permanent Secretary, who inaugurated the 5-Member Committee Friday, in his office, Graki, Abuja, urged the Committee to support the activities of the FCT Muslim Pilgrims Welfare Board toward a successful Hajj exercise.

A statement from the Director, Information and Communication, FCT, Muhammad Hazat Sule, made available to Abuja Digest Newspaper, indicated that the Committee is headed by the Director of the Human Resource Management Department, FCTA, Muhammad Bashir.

It stated that the Committee is among other things, expected to support the activities of the FCT Muslim Pilgrims Welfare Board to strengthen the Board’s operations for effective service delivery to the pilgrims.

Adesola had while inaugurating the Committee, charged members to identify all grey areas that would hinder the smooth operations of the 2023 Hajj and come out with workable solutions for a remarkable exercise.

He advised the Committee members to see their appointments as a national assignment, a service to humanity and God.

He, therefore, requested them to bring their experiences to bear in the discharge of this all-important assignment.

The Permanent Secretary explained that the Administration decided to set up the Committee to properly coordinate Hajj activities and strengthen the capacity of the Board to undertake its responsibilities.

The statement also stated that Adesola insisted that the Board’s activities must be open and transparent to serve the purpose of its establishment.

According to it, the Committee members were carefully selected to assist the pilgrims fulfill their religious obligations.

The Permanent Secretary reminded the members of the Committee of their responsibilities to man and God; saying that Hajj is one of the pillars of Islam, which a Muslim should fulfill.

The 5-Member Committee includes Muhammad Bashir- Chairman; Leramoh Abdulrazaq, Muhammad Hazat Sule, and Hajarat Titilayo Alayande as members; and Ghali Kassim, who is to serve as Secretary.

Responding on behalf of the Committee, the Chairman, Muhammad Bashir, thanked the Permanent Secretary for the confidence reposed in them; saying that he has seen the passion shown by him and promised not to let him down.

He assured that the Committee will work assiduously to strengthen the Board’s activities and ensure the success of the 2023 Hajj exercise.